⌘K
Home›Trouble codes›B156D› Ford
Diagnostic trouble code · Ford

B156D on Ford vehicles

B156D is named on 61 Ford model years (2018–2024): 192 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports in NHTSA’s files, across Fusion, Edge, Expedition, Explorer, F-150 and 11 more.

Body 61 model years 192 manufacturer filings

Which Ford model years name B156D

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints
Model yearFiled underBulletinsOwner reports
2020 Ford FusionEquipment11—
2019 Ford FusionEquipment11—
2020 Ford EdgeEquipment5—
2020 Ford ExpeditionEquipment5—
2020 Ford F-150Electrical System5—
2020 Ford F-250 Super DutyPower Train5—
2020 Ford F-350 Super DutyPower Train5—
2020 Ford F-450 Super DutyPower Train5—
2020 Ford MustangElectrical System5—
2020 Ford RangerElectrical System5—
2019 Ford EdgeElectrical System5—
2019 Ford ExplorerPower Train5—
2019 Ford F-150Power Train5—
2019 Ford MustangElectrical System5—
2019 Ford RangerElectrical System5—
2018 Ford ExplorerEquipment5—
2020 Ford ExplorerEquipment Adaptive/Mobility4—
2021 Ford ExpeditionEquipment3—
2021 Ford F-250 Super DutyEquipment3—
2021 Ford F-350 Super DutyEquipment3—
2021 Ford F-450 Super DutyEquipment3—
2021 Ford MustangEquipment3—
2021 Ford RangerEquipment3—
2019 Ford EscapeEquipment3—
2019 Ford ExpeditionPower Train3—
2019 Ford F-250 Super DutyEquipment3—
2019 Ford F-350 Super DutyElectrical System3—
2019 Ford F-450 Super DutyElectrical System3—
2018 Ford EscapeEquipment3—
2018 Ford ExpeditionPower Train3—
2024 Ford ExplorerNot specified2—
2024 Ford MaverickNot specified2—
2024 Ford TransitNot specified2—
2023 Ford Bronco SportNot specified2—
2023 Ford ExplorerNot specified2—
2023 Ford MaverickNot specified2—
2023 Ford MustangNot specified2—
2023 Ford RangerNot specified2—
2023 Ford TransitNot specified2—
2022 Ford Bronco SportNot specified2—

A model year is listed because the code is named in its own record — a bulletin filed against it, or an owner’s complaint about it — not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are documents in NHTSA’s files, not failure rates.

Equipment 54 Electrical System 50 Not specified 37 Power Train 21
Advertisement

Ford filings that name B156D

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications

Bulletins and campaigns Ford filed with NHTSA whose summary names B156D. Quote the document number at the service desk — it is a diagnosis the maker has already written down.

What B156D means

Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-II

B156D is a manufacturer-specific code: the second character is a 1, which under the OBD-II standard hands the definition to whoever built the vehicle. The same code can mean one thing on a Ford and something unrelated on a Hyundai. Any site that prints a single definition for it is guessing.

A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. The record above is what Ford and its owners have filed about it; the code’s page across every make has the whole file.

From here

Common questions

Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standard

Is B156D a known problem on Ford vehicles?

It is a documented one: NHTSA's files hold 192 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports naming B156D on 61 Ford model years (2018–2024). Whether it is a problem on one particular car is a diagnosis, not a count — but a bulletin that names the code on your model year is the place to start.

Which Ford models does B156D appear on most?

2020 Fusion (11 documents), 2019 Fusion (11 documents), 2020 Edge (5 documents).

Does B156D on a Ford mean it is recalled?

No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN; no recall is triggered by a scan tool. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or open the model year's page here for the campaigns filed against it.