U2016
0 owner reports and 36 manufacturer filings across 18 model years from Ford, Lincoln.
Where U2016 shows up
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints| Model year | Filed under | Bulletins | Owner reports | Parts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2025 Ford Escape | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2024 Ford Escape | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2023 Ford Escape | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2023 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2022 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2025 Lincoln Corsair | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2024 Lincoln Corsair | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2023 Lincoln Corsair | Not specified | 3 | — | |
| 2026 Ford Bronco Sport | Steering | 1 | — | |
| 2025 Ford Bronco Sport | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2026 Ford Escape | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2026 Ford Maverick | Steering | 1 | — | |
| 2026 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2025 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2024 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2026 Lincoln Corsair | Steering | 1 | — | |
| 2026 Lincoln Nautilus | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
A model year appears here because the code is named in its record, not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are mentions in the federal files, not failure rates — nobody publishes the denominator.
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you request a quote or buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing on this page changes because of it.
U2016 by make
The same record, one make at a time: the model years, bulletins and owner reports that name U2016 on that maker’s vehicles.
What it gets filed under

36 manufacturer filings name U2016. Start with what the maker wrote down.
A code names the test that failed, not the part. A bulletin that names it is often a diagnosis someone has already written down — quote its number at the service desk.
Manufacturer filings that name it
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communicationsService bulletins and campaigns whose filed summary names U2016.
- SSM 54918 Service bulletin2026-06-11 · Steering
- Some of the following vehicles: 2025-2026 Mustang Mach-E vehicles built on or before 27-Jan-2026 2025-2026 Maverick/Bronco Sport vehicles built on or before 20-Jan-2026 2024-2026 Nautilus vehicles built on or before 02-Dec-2025 2023-2026 Escape/Corsair may exhibit reduced steering assist and a "Power Steering Assist Fault" message displayed in the instrument panel cluster (IPC) with the diagnost
- SSM 54917 Service bulletin2026-06-11 · Electrical System
- Some 2021-2024 Mustang Mach-E vehicles may exhibit only continuous memory diagnostic trouble code (DTC) U2016:47 stored in the power steering control module (PSCM) after a self test is performed with the Ford Diagnosis and Repair System (FDRS) scan tool. If the vehicle does not exhibit any observable symptoms such as lack of/reduced power steering assist, disabling of power steering assist feature
- SSM 53468 Service bulletin2025-03-05 · Unknown Or Other
- Some 2021-2024 Mustang Mach-E and 2023-2025 Escape/Corsair vehicles may exhibit only continuous memory diagnostic trouble code (CMDTC) U2016:47 stored in the power steering control module (PSCM) after a self test is performed with Ford Diagnosis and Repair System (FDRS) scan tool.
- SSM 53345 Service bulletin2025-02-01 · Unknown Or Other
- Some 2021-2024 Mustang Mach-E and 2023-2025 Escape/Corsair vehicles may exhibit only continuous memory diagnostic trouble code (CMDTC) U2016:47 stored in the power steering control module (PSCM) after a self test is performed with Ford Diagnosis and Repair System (FDRS) scan tool.
What U2016 means
Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-IIU2016 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.
A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. It is the starting point of a diagnosis, not its conclusion — the same code has several possible causes and the cheap one is not always right.
Common questions about U2016
Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standardCan I keep driving with U2016 stored?
Nobody can answer that from the code alone, and a site that does is guessing. A steady light means a fault was logged and the car should be checked soon; a flashing light means a severe misfire — slow down and get it seen as soon as possible, because severe misfire can quickly damage the catalytic converter. The safe read of this page is the mileage and the components, not permission.
Does a code mean the car is recalled?
No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN, and none of them are triggered by a scan tool. If you want to know whether an open recall applies to one specific vehicle, check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls — that is the only source that settles it.
Why do the counts here differ from other sites?
Because these are not estimates. Every number on this page is a count of documents in NHTSA's own files: manufacturer communications that name the code in their filed summary, and owner complaints that name it in the narrative. We do not model, weight or extrapolate them.
Will clearing the code fix it?
Clearing turns the light off and erases the freeze-frame data a technician would have used to work out what happened. If the condition is still there the code returns, usually within a few drive cycles, and the diagnosis now starts from less information than before.