⌘K
Home›Trouble codes›U2016› Ford
Diagnostic trouble code · Ford

U2016 on Ford vehicles

U2016 is named on 13 Ford model years (2021–2026): 25 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports in NHTSA’s files, across Escape, Mustang Mach-E, Bronco Sport, Maverick.

Network 13 model years 25 manufacturer filings

Which Ford model years name U2016

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints
Model yearFiled underBulletinsOwner reports
2025 Ford EscapeNot specified3—
2024 Ford EscapeNot specified3—
2023 Ford EscapeNot specified3—
2023 Ford Mustang Mach-ENot specified3—
2022 Ford Mustang Mach-ENot specified3—
2021 Ford Mustang Mach-ENot specified3—
2026 Ford Bronco SportElectrical System1—
2026 Ford EscapeSteering1—
2026 Ford MaverickElectrical System1—
2026 Ford Mustang Mach-ESteering1—
2025 Ford Bronco SportElectrical System1—
2025 Ford Mustang Mach-EElectrical System1—
2024 Ford Mustang Mach-EElectrical System1—

A model year is listed because the code is named in its own record — a bulletin filed against it, or an owner’s complaint about it — not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are documents in NHTSA’s files, not failure rates.

Not specified 12 Electrical System 10 Steering 3
Advertisement

Ford filings that name U2016

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications

Bulletins and campaigns Ford filed with NHTSA whose summary names U2016. Quote the document number at the service desk — it is a diagnosis the maker has already written down.

What U2016 means

Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-II

U2016 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.

A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. The record above is what Ford and its owners have filed about it; the code’s page across every make has the whole file.

From here

Common questions

Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standard

Is U2016 a known problem on Ford vehicles?

It is a documented one: NHTSA's files hold 25 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports naming U2016 on 13 Ford model years (2021–2026). Whether it is a problem on one particular car is a diagnosis, not a count — but a bulletin that names the code on your model year is the place to start.

Which Ford models does U2016 appear on most?

2025 Escape (3 documents), 2024 Escape (3 documents), 2023 Escape (3 documents).

Does U2016 on a Ford mean it is recalled?

No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN; no recall is triggered by a scan tool. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or open the model year's page here for the campaigns filed against it.