⌘K
Federal filingsHome›Trouble codes› P2450
Diagnostic trouble code

P2450

2 owner reports and 93 manufacturer filings across 35 model years from Alfa Romeo, Chrysler, Dodge, Ford and others.

Powertrain Generic OBD-II code 93 manufacturer filings 2 owner reports

Where P2450 shows up

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints
Model yearFiled underBulletinsOwner reportsParts
2025 Ford EscapePower Train5—
2024 Ford EscapeNot specified5—
2023 Ford EscapeElectrical System5—Battery →
2025 Ford F-150Power Train5—
2024 Ford F-150Power Train5—
2023 Ford F-150Power Train5—
2022 Ford F-150Power Train5—
2025 Ford MaverickPower Train5—
2025 Lincoln CorsairPower Train5—
2024 Lincoln CorsairNot specified5—
2023 Lincoln CorsairFuel/Propulsion System5—Fuel pump →
2017 Ford FusionElectrical System21Battery →
2024 Ford MaverickFuel/Propulsion System3—Fuel pump →
2023 Ford MaverickFuel/Propulsion System3—Fuel pump →
2022 Ford MaverickFuel/Propulsion System3—Fuel pump →
2022 Ford EscapeNot specified2—
2025 Ford ExplorerNot specified2—
2024 Ford ExplorerNot specified2—
2023 Jeep WranglerFuel/Propulsion System2—Fuel pump →
2022 Lincoln CorsairNot specified2—
2021 Lincoln CorsairNot specified2—
2025 Lincoln NautilusNot specified2—
2024 Lincoln NautilusNot specified2—
2025 Alfa Romeo TonaleElectrical System1—Battery →
2024 Alfa Romeo TonaleElectrical System1—Battery →

Showing the 25 model years where P2450 appears most; it is on file for 35 in total.

A model year appears here because the code is named in its record, not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are mentions in the federal files, not failure rates — nobody publishes the denominator.

Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you request a quote or buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing on this page changes because of it.

P2450 by make

The same record, one make at a time: the model years, bulletins and owner reports that name P2450 on that maker’s vehicles.

Ford 18Lincoln 9

What it gets filed under

Power Train 28 Fuel/Propulsion System 23 Not specified 19 Electrical System 18 Engine 4 Vehicle Speed Control 1

What owners said

Source: NHTSA complaint database

Owners’ own words, one per nameplate, scrubbed of anything identifying. These are unverified reports filed with NHTSA — they are what was said, not a finding that it was true.

DTCs: U1027 (ABS/ECM loss), P2450/P2451 (EVAP stuck open/closed), P0DD2/P0DD6/P0DDE (battery cell balancing circuits H/J/K/M stuck off)
2017 Ford Fusion Sep 6, 2025 NHTSA owner report

93 manufacturer filings name P2450. Start with what the maker wrote down.

A code names the test that failed, not the part. A bulletin that names it is often a diagnosis someone has already written down — quote its number at the service desk.

Photo: Compagnons / Unsplash

Manufacturer filings that name it

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications

Service bulletins and campaigns whose filed summary names P2450.

What P2450 means

Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-II

P2450 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.

A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. It is the starting point of a diagnosis, not its conclusion — the same code has several possible causes and the cheap one is not always right.

From here

Common questions about P2450

Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standard

Can I keep driving with P2450 stored?

Nobody can answer that from the code alone, and a site that does is guessing. A steady light means a fault was logged and the car should be checked soon; a flashing light means a severe misfire — slow down and get it seen as soon as possible, because severe misfire can quickly damage the catalytic converter. The safe read of this page is the mileage and the components, not permission.

Does a code mean the car is recalled?

No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN, and none of them are triggered by a scan tool. If you want to know whether an open recall applies to one specific vehicle, check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls — that is the only source that settles it.

Why do the counts here differ from other sites?

Because these are not estimates. Every number on this page is a count of documents in NHTSA's own files: manufacturer communications that name the code in their filed summary, and owner complaints that name it in the narrative. We do not model, weight or extrapolate them.

Will clearing the code fix it?

Clearing turns the light off and erases the freeze-frame data a technician would have used to work out what happened. If the condition is still there the code returns, usually within a few drive cycles, and the diagnosis now starts from less information than before.