P25A2
14 owner reports and 37 manufacturer filings across 28 model years from Cadillac, Chevrolet, GMC.
Where P25A2 shows up
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints| Model year | Filed under | Bulletins | Owner reports | Parts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2019 Chevrolet Silverado | Service Brakes | — | 10 | Brake pads → |
| 2020 Cadillac CT4 | Equipment Adaptive/Mobility | 3 | — | |
| 2020 Cadillac CT5 | Steering | 3 | — | |
| 2024 Chevrolet Colorado | Service Brakes | 2 | 1 | Brake pads → |
| 2023 Chevrolet Colorado | Equipment | 3 | — | |
| 2023 GMC Canyon | Equipment | 3 | — | |
| 2024 GMC Yukon | Not specified | 2 | 1 | |
| 2024 GMC Canyon | Equipment | 2 | — | |
| 2025 GMC Yukon | Not specified | 2 | — | |
| 2026 Chevrolet Colorado | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 Chevrolet Colorado | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2023 Chevrolet Malibu | Power Train | — | 1 | |
| 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 2500HD | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2026 Chevrolet Silverado 3500HD | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 Chevrolet Silverado 3500HD | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2024 Chevrolet Suburban | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 Chevrolet Tahoe | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2024 Chevrolet Tahoe | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 Chevrolet Traverse | Service Brakes | — | 1 | Brake pads → |
| 2025 GMC Acadia | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2026 GMC Canyon | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 GMC Canyon | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2026 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2025 GMC Sierra 2500HD | Not specified | 1 | — |
Showing the 25 model years where P25A2 appears most; it is on file for 28 in total.
A model year appears here because the code is named in its record, not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are mentions in the federal files, not failure rates — nobody publishes the denominator.
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you request a quote or buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing on this page changes because of it.
P25A2 by make
The same record, one make at a time: the model years, bulletins and owner reports that name P25A2 on that maker’s vehicles.
What it gets filed under
What owners said
Source: NHTSA complaint databaseOwners’ own words, one per nameplate, scrubbed of anything identifying. These are unverified reports filed with NHTSA — they are what was said, not a finding that it was true.
The vehicle was taken to a local dealer, where it was diagnosed, and DTC: P053D, C055F, P25A2, and 25NA240 were retrieved
The diagnostic machine retrieved DTC: U0073, P0700, P25A2, U0101,U0129,U0146, U18D5, U18D7, U2413, U0073-00, U0100-00, U0140-00, U0151-00, U026A-00, U0420-00 and U0100
He hooked my vehicle up to it and the tool displayed diagnostic codes P25A2 and P3499
12600 miles 2019 Silverado 5.3 this happened after the recall was completed at my local chevy dealer, the truck through code P25A2 (the engine and transmission system is not performing as expected

37 manufacturer filings name P25A2. Start with what the maker wrote down.
A code names the test that failed, not the part. A bulletin that names it is often a diagnosis someone has already written down — quote its number at the service desk.
Manufacturer filings that name it
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communicationsService bulletins and campaigns whose filed summary names P25A2.
- PIT6522 Service bulletin2026-06-10 · Unknown Or Other
- This PI advises dealers that if the K160 Brake System Control Module sets DTC P0606 along with P0562 and/or P25A2, additional diagnostic aids should be followed before replacing parts. The PI provides guidance to inspect for low voltage conditions, wiring, terminal concerns, and module communication issues that may cause false or intermittent EBCM DTCs.
- PIT6012A Service bulletin2024-03-22 · Service Brakes
- This Preliminary information communicates Diagnostic information for the Check Engine Light On, Spongy Brake Pedal Feel, Codes C05D3 and P25A2 Stored.
- PIT6012 Service bulletin2023-05-05 · Equipment — Electrical
- This Preliminary information communicates Diagnostic information for the Check Engine Light On, Spongy Brake Pedal Feel, Codes C05D3 and P25A2 Stored.
- N202305180 Service bulletin2020-09-17 · Forward Collision Avoidance — Sensing System — Camera
- Service Update Bulletin - Certain 2020 model year Cadillac CT4 and CT5 vehicles may have a condition where the front windshield camera module may reset and lose communication with other modules. DTCs P25A2, U0265, U0566 and U1962 are set. The malfunction indicator light (MIL) may illuminate. Reprogram the front view camera.
- PIC6404A Service bulletin2020-09-17 · Electrical System
- This Preliminary information communicates An issue may occur causing a Service Driver Assist, Steering Assist Reduced Messages, or MIL illuminated with P25A2, U0265, and U0566, replacing the Front View Camera for frequently occurring cases and a software/hardware solution will be forthcoming for infrequently occurring cases.
- PIC6404 Service bulletin2020-02-06 · Equipment Adaptive/Mobility
- This Preliminary information communicates An issue may occur causing a Service Driver Assist, Steering Assist Reduced Messages, or MIL illuminated with P25A2, U0265, and U0566, replacing the Front View Camera for frequently occurring cases and a software/hardware solution will be forthcoming for in frequently occurring cases.
What P25A2 means
Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-IIP25A2 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.
A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. It is the starting point of a diagnosis, not its conclusion — the same code has several possible causes and the cheap one is not always right.
Common questions about P25A2
Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standardCan I keep driving with P25A2 stored?
Nobody can answer that from the code alone, and a site that does is guessing. A steady light means a fault was logged and the car should be checked soon; a flashing light means a severe misfire — slow down and get it seen as soon as possible, because severe misfire can quickly damage the catalytic converter. The safe read of this page is the mileage and the components, not permission.
Does a code mean the car is recalled?
No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN, and none of them are triggered by a scan tool. If you want to know whether an open recall applies to one specific vehicle, check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls — that is the only source that settles it.
Why do the counts here differ from other sites?
Because these are not estimates. Every number on this page is a count of documents in NHTSA's own files: manufacturer communications that name the code in their filed summary, and owner complaints that name it in the narrative. We do not model, weight or extrapolate them.
Will clearing the code fix it?
Clearing turns the light off and erases the freeze-frame data a technician would have used to work out what happened. If the condition is still there the code returns, usually within a few drive cycles, and the diagnosis now starts from less information than before.