⌘K
Home›Trouble codes›P25A2› GMC
Diagnostic trouble code · GMC

P25A2 on GMC vehicles

P25A2 is named on 12 GMC model years (2023–2026): 17 manufacturer filings and 1 owner report in NHTSA’s files, across Canyon, Yukon, Acadia, Sierra 2500HD, Sierra 3500HD.

Powertrain 12 model years 17 manufacturer filings 1 owner report

Which GMC model years name P25A2

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints
Model yearFiled underBulletinsOwner reports
2024 GMC YukonNot specified21
2023 GMC CanyonEquipment3—
2025 GMC YukonNot specified2—
2024 GMC CanyonService Brakes2—
2026 GMC CanyonNot specified1—
2026 GMC Sierra 2500HDNot specified1—
2026 GMC Sierra 3500HDNot specified1—
2026 GMC YukonNot specified1—
2025 GMC AcadiaNot specified1—
2025 GMC CanyonNot specified1—
2025 GMC Sierra 2500HDNot specified1—
2025 GMC Sierra 3500HDNot specified1—

A model year is listed because the code is named in its own record — a bulletin filed against it, or an owner’s complaint about it — not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are documents in NHTSA’s files, not failure rates.

Not specified 14 Equipment 2 Service Brakes 2
Advertisement

What GMC owners said

Source: NHTSA complaint database

Owners’ own words, scrubbed of anything identifying. Unverified reports filed with NHTSA — what was said, not a finding that it was true.

He hooked my vehicle up to it and the tool displayed diagnostic codes P25A2 and P3499
2024 GMC Yukon Aug 10, 2026 NHTSA owner report

GMC filings that name P25A2

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications

Bulletins and campaigns GMC filed with NHTSA whose summary names P25A2. Quote the document number at the service desk — it is a diagnosis the maker has already written down.

What P25A2 means

Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-II

P25A2 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.

A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. The record above is what GMC and its owners have filed about it; the code’s page across every make has the whole file.

From here

Common questions

Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standard

Is P25A2 a known problem on GMC vehicles?

It is a documented one: NHTSA's files hold 17 manufacturer filings and 1 owner report naming P25A2 on 12 GMC model years (2023–2026). Whether it is a problem on one particular car is a diagnosis, not a count — but a bulletin that names the code on your model year is the place to start.

Which GMC models does P25A2 appear on most?

2023 Canyon (3 documents), 2024 Yukon (3 documents), 2024 Canyon (2 documents).

Does P25A2 on a GMC mean it is recalled?

No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN; no recall is triggered by a scan tool. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or open the model year's page here for the campaigns filed against it.