P0AA1
2 owner reports and 25 manufacturer filings across 11 model years from Chevrolet, Ford, Maserati.
Where P0AA1 shows up
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints| Model year | Filed under | Bulletins | Owner reports | Parts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2021 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | 7 | 1 | Battery → |
| 2022 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | 7 | — | Battery → |
| 2023 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | 4 | — | Battery → |
| 2019 Chevrolet Bolt EV | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2018 Chevrolet Bolt EV | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2017 Chevrolet Bolt EV | Not specified | 1 | — | |
| 2019 Chevrolet Volt | Exterior Lighting | 1 | — | Headlight assembly → |
| 2023 Ford E-Transit | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2022 Ford E-Transit | Electrical System | 1 | — | Battery → |
| 2024 Ford Mustang Mach-E | Electrical System | — | 1 | Battery → |
| 2025 Maserati Grecale | Not specified | 1 | — |
A model year appears here because the code is named in its record, not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are mentions in the federal files, not failure rates — nobody publishes the denominator.
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you request a quote or buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing on this page changes because of it.
P0AA1 by make
The same record, one make at a time: the model years, bulletins and owner reports that name P0AA1 on that maker’s vehicles.
What it gets filed under
What owners said
Source: NHTSA complaint databaseOwners’ own words, one per nameplate, scrubbed of anything identifying. These are unverified reports filed with NHTSA — they are what was said, not a finding that it was true.
There they diagnosed the problem with this language: "HV JUNCTION BOX - FOUND P0AA1:68 AND P0AA1:00 TO BE HARD SET AND THE TO BE IN LIMP MODE

25 manufacturer filings name P0AA1. Start with what the maker wrote down.
A code names the test that failed, not the part. A bulletin that names it is often a diagnosis someone has already written down — quote its number at the service desk.
Manufacturer filings that name it
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communicationsService bulletins and campaigns whose filed summary names P0AA1.
- MAS004433 CSN 24-01 Other2024-11-07 · Unknown Or Other
- Certain Maserati Grecale BEV (M182) MY25 listed in MODISCS+ are involved in a Customer Service Notification (CSN) concerning the BPCM (Battery Pack Control Module) software update. Due to the DTC matrix not being aligned in the previous software, the DTC P0AA1 – Contactor stuck closed related to the HV battery could be set and the error message “Service Charging System” could appear on the clu
- SSM 51880 Service bulletin2023-08-23 · Electrical System
- Some 2021-2023 Mustang Mach-E and 2022-2023 E-Transit vehicles may exhibit an inability to clear diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) P0ADA, P0ADE, P0AA1, and/or P0AA4 stored in the battery energy control module (BECM) after high voltage battery junction box (HVBJB) replacement. To correct the condition, download and run the BECM - Reset Diagnostic Trouble Code (DTC) Occurrence Counter application in F
- TSB 23-2257 Service bulletin2023-08-22 · Electrical System
- Some 2021-2022 Mustang Mach-E vehicles built on or before 17-Mar-2023 may exhibit an illuminated malfunction indicator lamp (MIL) and/or powertrain malfunction (wrench) indicator with diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) P0563, P0ADA, P0ADE, P0AA1, P0AA4, P0AA5, P0AA2, P0D10, P0D0F, and/or P0C78 stored in battery energy control module (BECM). It may also have a low/discharged 12V battery and/or display
- SSM 51705 Service bulletin2023-06-13 · Electrical System — Software
- Some 2021-2023 Mustang Mach-E and 2022-2023 E-Transit vehicles may exhibit an illuminated powertrain malfunction (wrench) indicator with diagnostic trouble codes (DTC) P0ADA, P0ADE, P0AA1, and/or P0AA4 stored in the battery energy control module (BECM) after high voltage battery junction box (HVBJB) replacement. Vehicle may also exhibit reduced powertrain performance and/or a Stop Safely Now messa
- TSB 22-2178 Service bulletin2022-08-02 · Electrical System
- Some 2021-2022 Mustang Mach-E vehicles built on or before 28-May-2022 may exhibit an illuminated malfunction indicator lamp (MIL) and/or display a Stop Safely Now message in the instrument panel cluster (IPC) with diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) P0563, P0ADA, P0ADE, P0AA1, P0AA4, P0AA5, P0AA2, P0D10, P0D0F, and/or P0C78 stored in battery energy control module (BECM) or a low/discharged 12V battery
- 21NA288 Service bulletin2021-12-15 · Unknown Or Other
- This service bulletin provides repair information to correct a customer concern of MIL with DTC P0AA1 - Hybrid/EV Battery Positive Contactor Circuit Stuck Closed.
What P0AA1 means
Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-IIP0AA1 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.
A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. It is the starting point of a diagnosis, not its conclusion — the same code has several possible causes and the cheap one is not always right.
Common questions about P0AA1
Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standardCan I keep driving with P0AA1 stored?
Nobody can answer that from the code alone, and a site that does is guessing. A steady light means a fault was logged and the car should be checked soon; a flashing light means a severe misfire — slow down and get it seen as soon as possible, because severe misfire can quickly damage the catalytic converter. The safe read of this page is the mileage and the components, not permission.
Does a code mean the car is recalled?
No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN, and none of them are triggered by a scan tool. If you want to know whether an open recall applies to one specific vehicle, check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls — that is the only source that settles it.
Why do the counts here differ from other sites?
Because these are not estimates. Every number on this page is a count of documents in NHTSA's own files: manufacturer communications that name the code in their filed summary, and owner complaints that name it in the narrative. We do not model, weight or extrapolate them.
Will clearing the code fix it?
Clearing turns the light off and erases the freeze-frame data a technician would have used to work out what happened. If the condition is still there the code returns, usually within a few drive cycles, and the diagnosis now starts from less information than before.