U023A
1 owner report and 59 manufacturer filings across 17 model years from Chevrolet, Ford, Toyota.
Where U023A shows up
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints| Model year | Filed under | Bulletins | Owner reports | Parts |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 Ford F-150 | Not specified | 6 | 1 | |
| 2023 Ford F-150 | Not specified | 6 | — | |
| 2023 Ford F-250 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 5 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2023 Ford F-350 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 5 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2023 Ford F-450 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 5 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2025 Ford F-250 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 4 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2024 Ford F-250 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 4 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2025 Ford F-350 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 4 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2024 Ford F-350 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 4 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2025 Ford F-450 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 4 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2024 Ford F-450 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 4 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2016 Chevrolet Silverado | Equipment Adaptive/Mobility | 2 | — | |
| 2016 Toyota Highlander | Lane Departure | 2 | — | |
| 2026 Ford F-250 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 1 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2026 Ford F-350 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 1 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2026 Ford F-450 Super Duty | Service Brakes | 1 | — | Brake pads → |
| 2024 Ford Mustang | Forward Collision Avoidance | 1 | — |
A model year appears here because the code is named in its record, not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are mentions in the federal files, not failure rates — nobody publishes the denominator.
Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you request a quote or buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing on this page changes because of it.
U023A by make
The same record, one make at a time: the model years, bulletins and owner reports that name U023A on that maker’s vehicles.
What it gets filed under
What owners said
Source: NHTSA complaint databaseOwners’ own words, one per nameplate, scrubbed of anything identifying. These are unverified reports filed with NHTSA — they are what was said, not a finding that it was true.
New 2022 Ford F-150 vehicle has a "Rear Brake Assist Not Available" dash warning with accompanting DTCs B1578:78, IPMA Error, and U023A, Lost Communication with Image Processing Module A

59 manufacturer filings name U023A. Start with what the maker wrote down.
A code names the test that failed, not the part. A bulletin that names it is often a diagnosis someone has already written down — quote its number at the service desk.
Manufacturer filings that name it
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communicationsService bulletins and campaigns whose filed summary names U023A.
- SSM 54420 Service bulletin2025-12-03 · Service Brakes
- Some 2023-2026 F-Super Duty vehicles built on or before 01-Oct-2025 may exhibit a "Hill Start Assist Unavailable" and/or "Parking Brake Limited Function" message at vehicle start-up with diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) U0151, U023A, U0159 and/or U0146 stored in the anti-lock brake system (ABS) module. These DTCs and/or U0415 may also be present in various other modules related to "invalid data rec
- SSM 54160 Service bulletin2025-08-22 · Service Brakes
- Some 2023-2025 F-Super Duty vehicles may exhibit a "Hill Start Assist Unavailable" and/or "Parking Brake Limited Function" message at vehicle start-up with diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) U0151, U023A, U0159, and/or U0146 stored in the anti-lock brake system (ABS) module. These DTCs and/or U0415 may also be present in various other modules related to "invalid data received from the ABS control mod
- SSM 53892 Service bulletin2025-06-11 · Service Brakes
- Some 2023-2025 F-Super Duty vehicles may exhibit a "Hill Start Assist Unavailable" and/or "Parking Brake Limited Function" message at vehicle start-up with diagnostic trouble codes (DTC) U0151, U023A, U0159, and/or U0146 stored in the anti-lock brake system (ABS) module. These DTCs and/or U0415 may also be present in various other modules related to "invalid data received from the ABS control modu
- SSM 53521 Service bulletin2025-03-25 · Unknown Or Other
- Some 2023-2025 F-Super Duty vehicles may set diagnostic trouble codes (DTCS) U023A:00, U0159:00, and/or U0146:00 in the anti-lock brake system (ABS) module after the vehicle is remote started.
- SSM 52914 Service bulletin2024-09-19 · Unknown Or Other
- Some 2021-2023 F-150 Raptor/Tremor vehicles may exhibit diagnostic trouble code (DTC) U023A:08 after reprogramming the SCCM.
- SSM 52224 Service bulletin2024-01-31 · Equipment Adaptive/Mobility — Vehicle Controls — Steering
- Some 2021-2023 F-150 vehicles may exhibit DTC U023A:08 after reprogramming the SCCM. Do not replace or reprogram the SCCM, image processing module A (IPMA) or their components for this condition at this time. This DTC does not alert the customer, will not affect vehicle durability or vehicle operation and no additional diagnosis or service is required for this condition at this time. Engineering i
What U023A means
Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-IIU023A sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.
A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. It is the starting point of a diagnosis, not its conclusion — the same code has several possible causes and the cheap one is not always right.
Common questions about U023A
Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standardCan I keep driving with U023A stored?
Nobody can answer that from the code alone, and a site that does is guessing. A steady light means a fault was logged and the car should be checked soon; a flashing light means a severe misfire — slow down and get it seen as soon as possible, because severe misfire can quickly damage the catalytic converter. The safe read of this page is the mileage and the components, not permission.
Does a code mean the car is recalled?
No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN, and none of them are triggered by a scan tool. If you want to know whether an open recall applies to one specific vehicle, check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls — that is the only source that settles it.
Why do the counts here differ from other sites?
Because these are not estimates. Every number on this page is a count of documents in NHTSA's own files: manufacturer communications that name the code in their filed summary, and owner complaints that name it in the narrative. We do not model, weight or extrapolate them.
Will clearing the code fix it?
Clearing turns the light off and erases the freeze-frame data a technician would have used to work out what happened. If the condition is still there the code returns, usually within a few drive cycles, and the diagnosis now starts from less information than before.