⌘K
Federal filingsHome›Early Warning reports›Honda› Passport

The manufacturer filed it. Here it is, by model.

Early Warning Reporting · Honda

Honda Passport: deaths and injuries the manufacturer reported to NHTSA

Honda reported 94 incidents alleging a death or injury in a Honda Passport, model years 2019–2026, in its quarterly Early Warning reports to NHTSA (49 CFR 579.21), through 2026 Q1. Each is a claim the manufacturer received, not a finding; NHTSA does not verify them.

Photo: Dmitrii Filatov / Unsplash
94 incidents reported
0 deaths, as claimed
106 injuries, as claimed
2019–2026 model years named

By model year

Source: manufacturer EWR death and injury reports and production reports
Model yearIncidentsKilledInjuredBuiltPer 100,000 built
20192102343,10949
202080827,69429
20212202460,34836
20221602040,13440
20232002344,41345
202420223,9858.3
202530320,07915
202620367,0773.0

The model year is the one the manufacturer named in the report. A model year with its own page links to it. “Built” is the manufacturer’s cumulative production for the model year from its latest Early Warning production report; the rate is incidents per 100,000 of them.

By the system the claimant named

Source: as the manufacturer reported it
System namedIncidentsKilled
Air Bags170
Seats120
Forward Collision120
Structure120
No System/Component Specified80
Power Train70
Steering System60
Vehicle Speed Control60
Seat Belts60
Service Brake System40
Visibility30
Fuel System30
Electrical System30
Suspension System10
Engine and Cooling System10
Parking Brake System10
Tires10

An incident naming several systems is counted under each. “Fire” and “Other” are categories in the rule, not systems.

Every one of these, dated and numbered

The defect dossier for the Honda Passport puts each report beside the recalls, investigations, bulletins and owner complaints on the same system, as a PDF and two CSVs: the Honda Passport, one system, every model year, numbered as exhibits.

The incidents

Source: VIN shown as NHTSA publishes it: the first eleven characters
IncidentModel yearStateKilledInjuredSystems namedReported
2026-03-152020NY01Power Train2026 Q1
not reported2026MN01Seats2026 Q1
not reported2026IA02Power Train2026 Q1
not reported2023PA01Steering System2026 Q1
not reported2025MA01Power Train2025 Q4
not reported2022FL02Forward Collision2025 Q4
2025-11-152023CA03Forward Collision2026 Q1
2025-08-032022ME04Air Bags2025 Q4
2025-05-302025CA01Air Bags2025 Q3
2025-04-112023CA01Power Train2025 Q4
not reported2025—01Forward Collision2025 Q1
2025-02-282019CO01Air Bags2025 Q2
2024-12-202024NC01Steering System · Forward Collision2025 Q1
2024-12-112023NJ01Structure2025 Q3
2024-12-042023VA01Structure2025 Q2
2024-09-032022WA01Structure2025 Q2
2024-06-152019TX01Fuel System · Seat Belts2024 Q3
not reported2024WA01Steering System2024 Q2
not reported2023MA01Structure2024 Q2
not reported2021ID01Visibility2024 Q2
2024-04-012022MA01Vehicle Speed Control2024 Q2
2024-03-092023TX01Air Bags2024 Q2
2024-03-032019SC01Power Train2025 Q2
not reported2022NY01Structure2024 Q1
2024-02-132023CA01Forward Collision2025 Q3
2024-01-152021TN01Suspension System · Service Brake System2024 Q1
2024-01-122019NY01Fuel System2024 Q1
not reported2023—01Electrical System2023 Q4
not reported2023—01Engine and Cooling System2023 Q4
2023-11-202020CA01Air Bags2023 Q4
2023-11-152023CA01Vehicle Speed Control2025 Q1
2023-10-282022CO01Air Bags2024 Q1
2023-10-232023TX01Air Bags2024 Q2
2023-09-092021GA01Air Bags2024 Q3
not reported2023TN02Structure2023 Q3
not reported2023—01Seats2023 Q3
not reported2022WA01Power Train2023 Q3
2023-08-202020ID01Visibility2024 Q3
2023-08-102021TX01No System/Component Specified2023 Q4
2023-07-242022WA01Service Brake System2023 Q3
2023-07-202021TX01Air Bags2023 Q3
2023-07-172023NY01No System/Component Specified2024 Q3
2023-06-092021FL01Visibility2024 Q3
2023-06-042022NY01Service Brake System · Air Bags2023 Q4
not reported2023—01Seats2023 Q2
not reported2023—01Vehicle Speed Control2023 Q2
not reported2023—01Seats2023 Q2
not reported2023—01Structure2023 Q2
not reported2023—01Seat Belts2023 Q2
2023-03-292021GA01Steering System2023 Q2
2023-01-242022IL01No System/Component Specified2023 Q1
2023-01-062021NY02No System/Component Specified2024 Q1
2022-12-072020NY01Vehicle Speed Control2022 Q4
not reported2021NM01Forward Collision2022 Q4
not reported2019CA01Electrical System2022 Q4
2022-11-112021MA02Air Bags2022 Q4
not reported2022—01Structure2022 Q3
not reported2022—01Parking Brake System2022 Q3
2022-08-022021NM01Forward Collision2022 Q4
2022-07-242021FL01Air Bags2022 Q4
2022-06-182021MD01Service Brake System · Power Train2022 Q3
not reported2022—01Structure2022 Q2
not reported2022—01Seats2022 Q2
not reported2021AZ01Seats2022 Q2
2022-04-042022FL01No System/Component Specified2022 Q2
2022-03-312021NC01Forward Collision2022 Q2
2022-03-212021MN01Vehicle Speed Control2022 Q1
2022-03-072022NJ01No System/Component Specified2022 Q1
not reported2021OH01Forward Collision2022 Q1
not reported2020MI01Seats2022 Q1
not reported2020MD01Electrical System2022 Q1
2022-01-052019AZ01No System/Component Specified2022 Q1
2021-12-092019SC01Air Bags2023 Q1
2021-12-022019VA01Structure2021 Q4
2021-10-012021FL01Forward Collision2021 Q4
not reported2021—01Tires2021 Q3
not reported2020MA01Seat Belts2021 Q3
2021-07-262021PA01Structure2021 Q3
2021-07-172021MI01Air Bags · Seat Belts2021 Q3
2021-07-142019TX01No System/Component Specified2021 Q4
2021-06-102021WA01Air Bags · Seat Belts2021 Q2
2021-06-072019CA02Fuel System2021 Q2
2020-12-142019NY01Air Bags · Vehicle Speed Control2020 Q4
not reported2020FL01Seats2020 Q3
not reported2019CA01Seats2020 Q3
not reported2019WA01Seats2020 Q2
not reported2019CA01Structure2020 Q2
2020-02-162019WI01Air Bags2020 Q1
2019-11-102019CA01Steering System2019 Q4
2019-10-242019CA02Seat Belts · Forward Collision2019 Q4
2019-09-272019SC01Forward Collision2019 Q4
not reported2019PA01Steering System2019 Q3
not reported2019NY01Seats2019 Q3
not reported2019NC01Seats2019 Q2

Each row above is a claim or notice Honda received alleging a death or injury in a Honda Passport and reported to NHTSA as 49 CFR 579.21 requires; NHTSA does not verify it, and a Passport that sold more will have more rows. All Honda models · What these reports are, and are not.