⌘K
Home›Trouble codes›P04FB› GMC
Diagnostic trouble code · GMC

P04FB on GMC vehicles

P04FB is named on 7 GMC model years (2020–2026): 47 manufacturer filings and 2 owner reports in NHTSA’s files, across Acadia, Terrain.

Powertrain 7 model years 47 manufacturer filings 2 owner reports

Which GMC model years name P04FB

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints
Model yearFiled underBulletinsOwner reports
2023 GMC AcadiaNot specified101
2021 GMC AcadiaNot specified101
2022 GMC AcadiaNot specified10—
2020 GMC AcadiaNot specified10—
2025 GMC TerrainNot specified3—
2024 GMC AcadiaPower Train3—
2026 GMC TerrainNot specified1—

A model year is listed because the code is named in its own record — a bulletin filed against it, or an owner’s complaint about it — not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are documents in NHTSA’s files, not failure rates.

Not specified 26 Engine 14 Back Over Prevention 3 Power Train 2
Advertisement

What GMC owners said

Source: NHTSA complaint database

Owners’ own words, scrubbed of anything identifying. Unverified reports filed with NHTSA — what was said, not a finding that it was true.

The contact stated while driving at an undisclosed speed, the check engine warning light illuminated and DTC: P04FB; was displayed
2021 GMC Acadia at 37,000 miles Feb 9, 2026 NHTSA owner report

GMC filings that name P04FB

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications

Bulletins and campaigns GMC filed with NHTSA whose summary names P04FB. Quote the document number at the service desk — it is a diagnosis the maker has already written down.

What P04FB means

Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-II

P04FB sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.

A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. The record above is what GMC and its owners have filed about it; the code’s page across every make has the whole file.

From here

Common questions

Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standard

Is P04FB a known problem on GMC vehicles?

It is a documented one: NHTSA's files hold 47 manufacturer filings and 2 owner reports naming P04FB on 7 GMC model years (2020–2026). Whether it is a problem on one particular car is a diagnosis, not a count — but a bulletin that names the code on your model year is the place to start.

Which GMC models does P04FB appear on most?

2023 Acadia (11 documents), 2021 Acadia (11 documents), 2022 Acadia (10 documents).

Does P04FB on a GMC mean it is recalled?

No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN; no recall is triggered by a scan tool. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or open the model year's page here for the campaigns filed against it.