C05D9 on Ford vehicles
C05D9 is named on 10 Ford model years (2020–2024): 12 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports in NHTSA’s files, across Bronco, E-Transit, Edge, Escape, Maverick.
Which Ford model years name C05D9
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints| Model year | Filed under | Bulletins | Owner reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 Ford Bronco | Power Train | 2 | — |
| 2021 Ford Bronco | Power Train | 2 | — |
| 2024 Ford Escape | Not specified | 1 | — |
| 2023 Ford E-Transit | Power Train | 1 | — |
| 2023 Ford Escape | Not specified | 1 | — |
| 2022 Ford Edge | Power Train | 1 | — |
| 2022 Ford Escape | Power Train | 1 | — |
| 2022 Ford Maverick | Power Train | 1 | — |
| 2021 Ford Edge | Power Train | 1 | — |
| 2020 Ford Edge | Power Train | 1 | — |
A model year is listed because the code is named in its own record — a bulletin filed against it, or an owner’s complaint about it — not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are documents in NHTSA’s files, not failure rates.
Ford filings that name C05D9
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communicationsBulletins and campaigns Ford filed with NHTSA whose summary names C05D9. Quote the document number at the service desk — it is a diagnosis the maker has already written down.
- TSB 22-2136 Service bulletin2022-04-26 · Power Train
- Some 2021-2022 Bronco vehicles may exhibit an illuminated powertrain malfunction (wrench) indicator and diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) C05F9 and/or C05D9 stored in the all-wheel drive (AWD) module and inoperative AWD system. These DTCs maybe setting due to a low battery state of charge. To correct the condition, follow the Service Procedure to verify the battery condition and restore the AWD modu
- TSB 22-2447 Service bulletin2022-11-23 · Power Train — Transfer Case (4-Wheel Drive)
- Some 2021-2022 Bronco vehicles may exhibit an illuminated powertrain malfunction (wrench) indicator and diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) C05D9:19 and/or C05D9:99 stored in the all-wheel drive (AWD) module and inoperative AWD system. These DTCs maybe setting due to a low battery state of charge. To correct the condition, follow the Service Procedure to verify the battery condition and reprogram the
- SSM 52112 Service bulletin2023-12-08 · Power Train — Transfer Case (4-Wheel Drive)
- Some 2023 E-Transit and 2024 Nautilus vehicles may exhibit DTCs C0095:18 and/or C05D9:74 setting in the all-wheel drive (AWD) module with a pop-up message in the instrument panel cluster (IPC) stating there is a loss of AWD. The loss of AWD function may continue for the remainder of the key cycle. AWD functionally may be recovered with a key cycle. Replacement or reprogramming of the AWD module wi
- SSM 51117 Service bulletin2022-10-04 · Power Train
- Some 2021-2022 Bronco Sport 1.5L, 2019-2022 Edge/Nautilus, 2020-2022 Escape/Corsair, and 2022 Maverick vehicles may exhibit an illuminated AWD warning indicator or fault message with diagnostic trouble code (DTC) C0095:71/:19 stored in the all wheel drive (AWD) module. Some 2021-2022 Bronco Sport 2.0L may exhibit an illuminated AWD warning indicator or fault message with DTC C05D9:71, C05E8:71, C0
- SSM 52788 Service bulletin2024-08-08 · Unknown Or Other
- Some 2023-2024 Escape/Corsair, 2024 Nautilus vehicles may exhibit various AWD/4WD/4x4 warning messages displayed in the message center with loss of AWD function for the remainder of the active key cycle. DTCs C0095, C05D9:74, P060A, P060B, P060C, and/or P1674 may be stored in the AWD module. This condition may be due to the software in the AWD module.
What C05D9 means
Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-IIC05D9 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.
A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. The record above is what Ford and its owners have filed about it; the code’s page across every make has the whole file.
Common questions
Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standardIs C05D9 a known problem on Ford vehicles?
It is a documented one: NHTSA's files hold 12 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports naming C05D9 on 10 Ford model years (2020–2024). Whether it is a problem on one particular car is a diagnosis, not a count — but a bulletin that names the code on your model year is the place to start.
Which Ford models does C05D9 appear on most?
2022 Bronco (2 documents), 2021 Bronco (2 documents), 2023 E-Transit (1 document).
Does C05D9 on a Ford mean it is recalled?
No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN; no recall is triggered by a scan tool. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or open the model year's page here for the campaigns filed against it.