⌘K
Federal filingsHome›Trouble codes› B11D9
Diagnostic trouble code

B11D9

2 owner reports and 5 manufacturer filings across 2 model years from Ford.

Body Manufacturer-specific 5 manufacturer filings 2 owner reports

Where B11D9 shows up

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints
Model yearFiled underBulletinsOwner reportsParts
2020 Ford ExplorerElectrical System32Battery →
2024 Ford F-150Not specified2—

A model year appears here because the code is named in its record, not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are mentions in the federal files, not failure rates — nobody publishes the denominator.

Affiliate disclosure: some links on this page are affiliate links. If you request a quote or buy through them we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Nothing on this page changes because of it.

What it gets filed under

Electrical System 4 Not specified 2 Power Train 1

What owners said

Source: NHTSA complaint database

Owners’ own words, one per nameplate, scrubbed of anything identifying. These are unverified reports filed with NHTSA — they are what was said, not a finding that it was true.

Test drove vehicle ano battery light returned with b11d9:09 in BCM and P06EF in PCM
2020 Ford Explorer Apr 30, 2026 NHTSA owner report

5 manufacturer filings name B11D9. Start with what the maker wrote down.

A code names the test that failed, not the part. A bulletin that names it is often a diagnosis someone has already written down — quote its number at the service desk.

Photo: Compagnons / Unsplash

Manufacturer filings that name it

Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications

Service bulletins and campaigns whose filed summary names B11D9.

What B11D9 means

Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-II

B11D9 is a manufacturer-specific code: the second character is a 1, which under the OBD-II standard hands the definition to whoever built the vehicle. The same code can mean one thing on a Ford and something unrelated on a Hyundai. Any site that prints a single definition for it is guessing.

A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. It is the starting point of a diagnosis, not its conclusion — the same code has several possible causes and the cheap one is not always right.

From here

Common questions about B11D9

Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standard

Why does this page not define B11D9?

Because it cannot be defined honestly. The second character of a trouble code says who owns its meaning, and a 1 or a 3 hands that to the manufacturer. Sites that print one definition for a manufacturer-specific code are showing you one automaker's meaning and hoping it is yours.

Can I keep driving with B11D9 stored?

Nobody can answer that from the code alone, and a site that does is guessing. A steady light means a fault was logged and the car should be checked soon; a flashing light means a severe misfire — slow down and get it seen as soon as possible, because severe misfire can quickly damage the catalytic converter. The safe read of this page is the mileage and the components, not permission.

Does a code mean the car is recalled?

No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN, and none of them are triggered by a scan tool. If you want to know whether an open recall applies to one specific vehicle, check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls — that is the only source that settles it.

Why do the counts here differ from other sites?

Because these are not estimates. Every number on this page is a count of documents in NHTSA's own files: manufacturer communications that name the code in their filed summary, and owner complaints that name it in the narrative. We do not model, weight or extrapolate them.

Will clearing the code fix it?

Clearing turns the light off and erases the freeze-frame data a technician would have used to work out what happened. If the condition is still there the code returns, usually within a few drive cycles, and the diagnosis now starts from less information than before.