⌘K
Federal filingsHome›Early Warning reports›Honda› Clarity

The manufacturer filed it. Here it is, by model.

Early Warning Reporting · Honda

Honda Clarity: deaths and injuries the manufacturer reported to NHTSA

Honda reported 49 incidents alleging a death or injury in a Honda Clarity, model years 2017–2021, in its quarterly Early Warning reports to NHTSA (49 CFR 579.21), through 2026 Q1. Each is a claim the manufacturer received, not a finding; NHTSA does not verify them.

Photo: Dmitrii Filatov / Unsplash
49 incidents reported
0 deaths, as claimed
59 injuries, as claimed
2017–2021 model years named

By model year

Source: manufacturer EWR death and injury reports and production reports
Model yearIncidentsKilledInjuredBuiltPer 100,000 built
20171012,42941
20183204025,171127
20198098,10299
20205053,104161
20213042,620115

The model year is the one the manufacturer named in the report. A model year with its own page links to it. “Built” is the manufacturer’s cumulative production for the model year from its latest Early Warning production report; the rate is incidents per 100,000 of them.

By the system the claimant named

Source: as the manufacturer reported it
System namedIncidentsKilled
Structure150
Vehicle Speed Control90
Air Bags60
Forward Collision50
Seats50
No System/Component Specified40
Seat Belts40
Steering System20
Service Brake System10
Power Train10
Electrical System10
Visibility10

An incident naming several systems is counted under each. “Fire” and “Other” are categories in the rule, not systems.

Every one of these, dated and numbered

The defect dossier for the Honda Clarity puts each report beside the recalls, investigations, bulletins and owner complaints on the same system, as a PDF and two CSVs: the Honda Clarity, one system, every model year, numbered as exhibits.

The incidents

Source: VIN shown as NHTSA publishes it: the first eleven characters
IncidentModel yearStateKilledInjuredSystems namedReported
2026-03-182018CA01Vehicle Speed Control2026 Q1
2025-06-252020CA01Structure2025 Q4
not reported2018OR01Structure2025 Q2
2024-06-232019CA01Vehicle Speed Control2024 Q3
not reported2018CA01Structure2023 Q4
2023-11-242019CA02Vehicle Speed Control2023 Q4
2023-11-132018CA01Structure2024 Q1
2023-11-012021CA01No System/Component Specified2023 Q4
2023-07-132018MA01Vehicle Speed Control2023 Q3
2023-07-012020CA01Air Bags · Forward Collision2023 Q4
not reported2021CA02Structure2022 Q4
not reported2018CA01Structure2022 Q4
2022-10-192018CA01Seat Belts2022 Q4
not reported2020CA01Structure2022 Q3
not reported2018CA01Structure2022 Q3
2022-05-022018CA02Steering System2022 Q2
2022-03-302018CA01Structure2022 Q2
not reported2019CA01Structure2022 Q1
2022-02-272019CA01Seat Belts2022 Q2
2021-07-162018CA01No System/Component Specified2021 Q3
2021-06-192019CA01Seat Belts2021 Q2
2021-03-062021CA01Structure2021 Q2
not reported2018—01Air Bags2021 Q1
not reported2018NV01Vehicle Speed Control2021 Q1
not reported2020CA01Structure2020 Q4
2020-11-172018CA02Forward Collision2021 Q2
not reported2020CA01No System/Component Specified2020 Q3
not reported2018CA01Structure2020 Q3
2020-08-112018CA02Forward Collision2022 Q1
not reported2019CA01Seats2020 Q2
not reported2018NY01Service Brake System · Seats2020 Q1
2020-01-082018OH02Seat Belts2020 Q1
2019-12-202018CA01Structure2020 Q3
2019-12-052018MD01Power Train2019 Q4
2019-11-152019CA01Vehicle Speed Control2019 Q4
2019-10-152018MD01Forward Collision2019 Q4
not reported2018CA01Electrical System2019 Q3
2019-08-232018CA03Structure2019 Q3
2019-07-052019CA01Air Bags2019 Q3
2019-05-062018CA03Air Bags · Vehicle Speed Control2019 Q2
2019-04-182018CA01Air Bags2019 Q2
2019-03-132018RI01Forward Collision2019 Q1
not reported2018FL01Visibility2019 Q1
2018-11-022018MA01Seats2018 Q4
not reported2018—01Seats2018 Q3
2018-08-062018PA01Steering System · Vehicle Speed Control2018 Q3
2018-06-262017CA01Air Bags · Vehicle Speed Control2018 Q2
not reported2018FL01Seats2018 Q2
not reported2018NY01No System/Component Specified2018 Q2

Each row above is a claim or notice Honda received alleging a death or injury in a Honda Clarity and reported to NHTSA as 49 CFR 579.21 requires; NHTSA does not verify it, and a Clarity that sold more will have more rows. All Honda models · What these reports are, and are not.