P0DE6 on Ford vehicles
P0DE6 is named on 6 Ford model years (2023–2024): 12 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports in NHTSA’s files, across Escape, Explorer, Maverick.
Which Ford model years name P0DE6
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communications and complaints| Model year | Filed under | Bulletins | Owner reports |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2023 Ford Escape | Power Train | 3 | — |
| 2023 Ford Explorer | Power Train | 3 | — |
| 2023 Ford Maverick | Power Train | 3 | — |
| 2024 Ford Escape | Not specified | 1 | — |
| 2024 Ford Explorer | Not specified | 1 | — |
| 2024 Ford Maverick | Not specified | 1 | — |
A model year is listed because the code is named in its own record — a bulletin filed against it, or an owner’s complaint about it — not because every one of these vehicles sets it. Counts are documents in NHTSA’s files, not failure rates.
Ford filings that name P0DE6
Source: NHTSA manufacturer communicationsBulletins and campaigns Ford filed with NHTSA whose summary names P0DE6. Quote the document number at the service desk — it is a diagnosis the maker has already written down.
- SSM 51460 Service bulletin2023-03-17 · Power Train
- 2023 F-150/Escape/Explorer/Maverick vehicles equipped with a full hybrid electric vehicle (FHEV) powertrain may exhibit diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) P0A7D and/or P0DE6 and the vehicle identification number (VIN) is not recognized by the Midtronics xRC-3363 High Voltage Battery Rescue Charger. The technician will need to manually enter the vehicle charging mode by selecting 2022 model year, then
- SSM 52230 Service bulletin2024-02-01 · Power Train
- 2023 F-150/Escape/Explorer/Maverick vehicles equipped with a full hybrid electric vehicle (FHEV) powertrain may exhibit diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) P0A7D and/or P0DE6 and the vehicle identification number (VIN) is not recognized by the Midtronics xRC-3363 High Voltage Battery Rescue Charger. This may be due to the software level of the Midtronics xRC-3363 High Voltage Battery Rescue Charger. T
- SSM 52773 Service bulletin2024-08-02 · Unknown Or Other
- 2023-2024 F-150/Escape/Explorer/Maverick and 2024 Nautilus vehicles equipped with a full hybrid electric vehicle (FHEV) powertrain may exhibit diagnostic trouble codes (DTCs) P0A7D and/or P0DE6 and the vehicle identification number (VIN) is not recognized by the Midtronics xRC-3363 High Voltage Battery Rescue Charger. This may be due to the software level of the Midtronics xRC-3363 High Voltage Ba
What P0DE6 means
Source: SAE J2012 / OBD-IIP0DE6 sits in the generic range of the OBD-II standard, so it means the same thing on every vehicle sold in the United States — but WhichTrim does not carry a definition for it and will not invent one. What is on this page is the record: who named it and on what.
A stored code names the test that failed, never the part that caused it. The record above is what Ford and its owners have filed about it; the code’s page across every make has the whole file.
Common questions
Source: NHTSA files and the OBD-II standardIs P0DE6 a known problem on Ford vehicles?
It is a documented one: NHTSA's files hold 12 manufacturer filings and 0 owner reports naming P0DE6 on 6 Ford model years (2023–2024). Whether it is a problem on one particular car is a diagnosis, not a count — but a bulletin that names the code on your model year is the place to start.
Which Ford models does P0DE6 appear on most?
2023 Escape (3 documents), 2023 Explorer (3 documents), 2023 Maverick (3 documents).
Does P0DE6 on a Ford mean it is recalled?
No. Recalls are filed by campaign and matched by VIN; no recall is triggered by a scan tool. Check the VIN at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or open the model year's page here for the campaigns filed against it.