⌘K
Federal filingsHome›Early Warning reports›Ford› C-MAX

The manufacturer filed it. Here it is, by model.

Early Warning Reporting · Ford

Ford C-MAX: deaths and injuries the manufacturer reported to NHTSA

Ford reported 34 incidents alleging a death or injury in a Ford C-MAX, model years 2013–2017, in its quarterly Early Warning reports to NHTSA (49 CFR 579.21), through 2026 Q1. Each is a claim the manufacturer received, not a finding; NHTSA does not verify them.

Photo: Dmitrii Filatov / Unsplash
34 incidents reported
4 deaths, as claimed
32 injuries, as claimed
2013–2017 model years named

By model year

Source: manufacturer EWR death and injury reports and production reports
Model yearIncidentsKilledInjuredBuiltPer 100,000 built
201321022——
2014303——
2015735——
2016202——
201711017,9055.6

The model year is the one the manufacturer named in the report. A model year with its own page links to it. “Built” is the manufacturer’s cumulative production for the model year from its latest Early Warning production report; the rate is incidents per 100,000 of them.

By the system the claimant named

Source: as the manufacturer reported it
System namedIncidentsKilled
Other92
Electrical System72
No System/Component Specified51
Power Train51
Structure30
Seats30
Service Brake System30
Air Bags30
Fire10
Service Brake System, Air10
Steering System10
Latch10
Seat Belts10
Vehicle Speed Control10
Engine and Cooling System10

An incident naming several systems is counted under each. “Fire” and “Other” are categories in the rule, not systems.

Every one of these, dated and numbered

The defect dossier for the Ford C-MAX puts each report beside the recalls, investigations, bulletins and owner complaints on the same system, as a PDF and two CSVs: the Ford C-MAX, one system, every model year, numbered as exhibits.

The incidents

Source: VIN shown as NHTSA publishes it: the first eleven characters
IncidentModel yearStateKilledInjuredSystems namedReported
2023-08-082015AZ10Electrical System · Other2024 Q4
2023-08-082015AZ10Electrical System · Other2024 Q3
2023-08-082015AL10No System/Component Specified2024 Q1
not reported2013IN02Power Train2022 Q4
2022-05-142017IN10Power Train2022 Q4
2019-09-112015CA01Power Train2019 Q4
2019-04-162013WA01Electrical System2019 Q2
2019-03-212016MI01Structure2019 Q1
2017-11-132013OH01Seats2017 Q4
2017-09-062014MA01Other2017 Q3
2017-02-072013CA01Power Train · Service Brake System2017 Q1
2017-01-272016OR01Other2017 Q1
2016-08-052013FL01Fire · No System/Component Specified2016 Q4
2016-06-222015IL01Service Brake System2016 Q2
2015-10-312013VA01Structure · Service Brake System, Air · Service Brake System · Steering System2015 Q4
2015-10-232015CO01Other2015 Q4
2015-07-032015MO02Other2015 Q3
2014-12-102014MA01Latch · Other2015 Q2
2014-10-272013—01Electrical System2014 Q4
2014-09-262013AR01Air Bags2014 Q4
2014-08-212014—01Seats · Other2015 Q1
2014-07-152013CA01Seats2014 Q3
2014-04-092013FL01Vehicle Speed Control2014 Q2
2014-02-032013MO01Structure · Seat Belts · Air Bags2015 Q2
2013-12-102013WA01Electrical System2013 Q4
2013-11-282013CA01Engine and Cooling System2013 Q4
2013-09-092013WA01No System/Component Specified2016 Q3
2013-08-142013—01Other2013 Q3
2013-08-052013FL01Power Train2013 Q3
2013-06-152013OR01Air Bags2013 Q3
not reported2013CA01Electrical System2013 Q1
2013-02-062013IN01Electrical System2013 Q1
2012-12-082013CA01No System/Component Specified2012 Q4
2012-11-192013CA01No System/Component Specified2012 Q4

Each row above is a claim or notice Ford received alleging a death or injury in a Ford C-MAX and reported to NHTSA as 49 CFR 579.21 requires; NHTSA does not verify it, and a C-MAX that sold more will have more rows. All Ford models · What these reports are, and are not.